Make your own quiz!

In my last post I mentioned that you can make your own quiz using PowerPoint. So, let’s give it a try!

Check out the video below to get an idea of what we are going to make.

You can see from the video that we have a question and four possible responses. When you click (or touch) one of the responses it changes the color of the box. Green if it is correct, red if it is incorrect.

The advantages of making something like this is that it is highly customizable. Once you have made the first slide all you have to do is copy it and change the question. Unlike an app or a pre-made quiz you are only limited by your imagination. You can review grammar, you can match words and definitions, you can ask students to find the odd one out in a series of words, or you can base your questions on the students’ reading material.

If you want to try making it, this video will take you through all the steps.

Resize the video by clicking on the arrows in the bottom right corner.
The video shows PowerPoint 2013. 

A template is available to download. Check out the downloads page to download My Quiz 2.0.

Let’s just recap over some of the things from the video.

The Selection Pane
This list that appears on the right-hand side is very useful. It will help you find the right object. By default objects are named ‘Picture 1’ or ‘Text box 2’. I recommend renaming them because it makes everything a little bit easier. Double-click on an object to rename it.

The Animation Tab
PowerPoint is capable of many different types of animation but we only want to focus on the fill color animation. To change the color of the animation, just click the ‘Big A.’

Triggers
This is the most important step. If you choose the wrong trigger, your animation may not work the way you want it to, but having renamed our objects in the ‘The Selection Pane’ it has made it easier for us to pick the right object. For this animation the trigger should be the same name as the object you want to animate.

So, that’s it!

I know what you are thinking though. ‘What if some students are color blind?’

In the next post I will show you how to add sound effects to your animations, so you can have your very own quiz show chime.

Take care.

14 thoughts on “Make your own quiz!

  1. It is wonderful! I’m an English teacher and used it as a competition like who wants to be a millionaire and my children had a blast! Thanks a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is wonderful, thank you for the tutorial! I quite managed to create my first quiz but still I have one problem. When I use the slideshow, the answers start changing their colours on their own after some time even if I do not click on them. And I swear I set the trigger “on click”! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Michaela, thank you for letting me know. I downloaded a copy of the Quiz from the site and checked it and you are right, it’s as if it has a mind of its own after about 30 seconds. This is the caused by exporting the presentation to video for the tutorial. I’ve come up with two solutions for you. I have updated the file on the downloads page and I have also given some advice on how to clear the timings or disable them on a newly create page; tips and tricks. So, you have a choice of downloading the latest file, or learning a quick tip to solve the problem. Thanks again for the feedback. I really do appreciate it. Let me know how your quiz goes. 😀
      https://tekhnologic.wordpress.com/downloads/
      https://tekhnologic.wordpress.com/tips-and-tricks/timings/

      Like

      1. Hello, thank you very much for your reply. You are really fast and precise. I did it as you suggested in tips and tricks and now it WORKS! Thanks a lot! I am going to finish the quiz and use it at school as soon as possible 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment